My crazy, awesome new job

18 Oct
I call this my "mug shot"...get it? Oh, I crack myself up sometimes.

I call this my “mug shot”…get it? Oh, I crack myself up sometimes.

I have just survived the first two weeks of the nuttiest, wildest, most demanding and most rewarding job I’ve ever had. On Oct. 1st, I took over from the great Ben Westhoff as Music Editor for L.A. Weekly. I’m a very, very lucky guy. I’m also not getting much sleep, but that’s OK. As I wrote in my introductory post, it’s not every day someone hands you the keys to your dream job and says, “Have fun! Just try not to scratch it.”

I am by nature a cautious man, so I haven’t been driving the new job like a stolen car just yet. (I’m a Jersey kid, so I had to sneak a few Springsteen allusions in here somewhere.) But we’ve already had a few pretty “big wins,” as the bosses like to say.

The first list I curated and edited (and wrote 1/10th of) has blown up even more than our lists usually do. Our resident expert on all things Long Beach wrote what I can confidently say is the best online tribute to Jack White’s touring keyboardist and LBC native, Isaiah “Ikey” Owens, who passed away this week. Among my stated goals stepping into this job were to cover more Latin music and report more local music news, and we’ve already done both. So everything’s off to a good start.

I’ll be updating this website less often now, but you can always keep track of my latest activities via West Coast Sound, L.A. Weekly‘s music blog. And if you live in L.A., you can pick up a new paper copy of the Weekly every Thursday at fine cafes, bars and newsstands throughout the city, and get the ink from our stories all over your fingers, just like our readers have been doing since 1978. How cool is that?

Leave a Reply

